Children’s Book Awards 2010

and learn more about the awards for excellence in Children’s literature.

But— do stop and ask yourself:

~ Which books do you love that never won an award!
~ Which books do you think deserve an award?
~ If you could make up an award—what would it be?

Let’s congratulate the award winners and at the same time, not let our taste be dictated only by awards. Some of the award winners~

2010 Caldecott Medal
The Lion & the Mouse,
illustrated and written
by Jerry Pinkney

2010 Caldecott Honor
All the World,
illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton

Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman

2010 Newberry Award
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

2010 Newberry Honor
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice
by Phillip Hoose

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate
Jacqueline Kelly

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Flgg
by Rodman Philbrick

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin

2010 Carnegie
Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Williams

One of my favorite awards is the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
2010 winner
Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone


Reach Diane Frankenstein at:

facebook LinkedIn

© 2024 Diane Frankenstein. All Rights Reserved.